Electronic Switch?

ajohn

Joined Jun 18, 2014
Forgive me if this is a stupid question, I'm not an electrical person, I'm a mechanical engineer...

I'm building a system to run some tests, which requires a heater to be automatically turned on and off. The coding is done through LabView, and is is currently running on a NI myDAQ. The problem is the output ports don't supply the current necessary to get the heater to its proper output. I have an external power source I can use. The power source is NOT, however, one that can interface with the computer, just physical controls. Is there any way to build a circuit that will turn the power from the source on and off to the heater using a voltage signal from the myDAQ?

alfacliff

Joined Dec 13, 2013
a solid state relay. might help if you told us what the supply for the heater is. either a solid state relay or a plain old relay.

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
Is this just ON/OFF control?
Look for an opto Isolator, Opto22, Grayhill, T&B make them.
They will switch an AC or DC load using a 3-35vdc signal and are isolated.
Max.

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
You could use a Logic Mosfet to switch them, although if you need an off the shelf solution and/or isolation (which you may not need), the Opto22 would do it, DC switching output type.
Either way you would need a logic output on your Labview card.
Max.

ajohn

Joined Jun 18, 2014
So what I have running now is that when a specific condition is met, it outputs 5V from a certain port on the DAQ. So with any of these solutions (the solid state relay, logic mosfet, opto isolator) is this all I would need to be able to run it?

MaxHeadRoom

Joined Jul 18, 2013
Yes, also if neccesary a small logic (5v) Mosfet,2n7000 could operate a relay, although the cleaner way would be the solutions already mentioned.
Depending on the logic output capacity you may need a 2n7000 to drive the Opto22.
Do you require the electrical isolation between the heater and PC?