electronic safe's

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by maneta007, Jun 1, 2007.

1. maneta007

Thread Starter New Member

Jun 1, 2007
    I saw a battery powered electric safe at the store the other day, and I have wondered this..

The batteries are installed and replace INSIDE the safe.. There's no combination lock, and it's exclusively a numeric pad..

So um, what do you do when the batteries die? LOL

2. Pootworm

May 18, 2007
    That actually happened to me when I was an assistant manager at a retail store. I can tell you from experience that what you do is FREAK OUT. :)

3. beenthere

Retired Moderator

Apr 20, 2004
    If it's not too expensive, give it as a gift to someone you don't like.

4. mrmeval

Distinguished Member

Jun 30, 2006
    The more expensive ones have a backup key.

5. recca02

Apr 2, 2007
    better un-safe than sorry :D

6. Dave

Retired Moderator

Nov 17, 2003
    Does someone want to try and give a logical reason for such a design? (Specifically the battery accessibility).

Dave

7. cumesoftware

Apr 27, 2007
    Get dynamite.

8. cumesoftware

Apr 27, 2007
    I think the reason is because such manufacturers are simply stupid. They are not conscious that batteries tend to discharge themselves.
    Need more examples? Think Microsoft...LOL

Also, probably they don't want the burglar to reset the safe by taking the battery out, but there are other solutions...that one is the worst one.

9. Salgat

Dec 23, 2006
    Is it possible to just bust open the keypad and put an external powersupply over the positive and negative bus?

10. thingmaker3

Retired Moderator

May 16, 2005
    This design prevents the dead batteries from being stolen.:D