Electronic Circuit Question.

Discussion in 'Homework Help' started by RRITESH KAKKAR, Dec 24, 2015.

  1. RRITESH KAKKAR

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Jun 29, 2010
    2,831
    89
    how to know or calculate this.
    Which component is shorted?
    [​IMG]
     
  2. RRITESH KAKKAR

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Jun 29, 2010
    2,831
    89
    The current through R1 will be: 48mA calculated.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2015
    sandeep mukke likes this.
  3. RRITESH KAKKAR

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Jun 29, 2010
    2,831
    89
    Which component is open?
    [​IMG]
     
  4. hp1729

    Well-Known Member

    Nov 23, 2015
    1,951
    219
    Not that resistors short out, but If R1 were shorted you would not see that 2.4 Amps through the following stages. Likewise R2 and R3, so it must be R4.
     
    RRITESH KAKKAR likes this.
  5. RRITESH KAKKAR

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Jun 29, 2010
    2,831
    89
    In a 20 Vac series RC circuit, if 20 V is measured across the resistor and 40 V is measured across the capacitor, the applied voltage is:
     
  6. RRITESH KAKKAR

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Jun 29, 2010
    2,831
    89
    i got the answer but don't understand 20Vac meaning here.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. RRITESH KAKKAR

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Jun 29, 2010
    2,831
    89
    What is the angle theta value for a 5.6 [​IMG]F capacitor and a 50-ohm resistor in series with a 1.1 kHz, 5 Vac source?

    After solving:
    P Active power across R=0.5W
    Q Reactive C= 0.967VAR
    So, S=√(P²+Q²)
    S=1.10VA

    cosΦ=Base /hyp.
    cosΦ=0.5/1.10=62.9

    But answer is –27.3 degrees
     
  8. Hypatia's Protege

    Distinguished Member

    Mar 1, 2015
    2,781
    1,230
    First you're going to have to tell me what the rectangles represent?:confused::confused::confused:

    If ammeters what is their terminal to terminal resistance?
     
    Last edited: Dec 24, 2015
    RRITESH KAKKAR likes this.
  9. Hypatia's Protege

    Distinguished Member

    Mar 1, 2015
    2,781
    1,230
    @RRITESH KAKKAR --- You know full well how to calculate reactance and convert between rectangular and polar formats!:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
     
    RRITESH KAKKAR likes this.
  10. RRITESH KAKKAR

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Jun 29, 2010
    2,831
    89
    Sinθ=imaginary(Reactive)/Real(Active)
    Sinθ=0.967/0.5=1.9 error
     
  11. RRITESH KAKKAR

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Jun 29, 2010
    2,831
    89
    What is the phase shift between the voltage across the resistor and the voltage from the source?


    [​IMG]
     
  12. shteii01

    AAC Fanatic!

    Feb 19, 2010
    3,388
    497
    Convert C1 into impedance.
    Now you have two "resistors" in series, also known as Voltage Divider.
    Apply voltage divider formula to R1 to find voltage across R1 in complex form.
    Extract the angle from the complex voltage of R1.
     
  13. JoeJester

    AAC Fanatic!

    Apr 26, 2005
    3,373
    1,159
    Not to be particular but there is a little bit of difference between the 2.4 amperes you quoted and the 2.4 GigaAmperes the simulation shows. However, the troubleshooting was correct.
     
    Hypatia's Protege likes this.
  14. JoeJester

    AAC Fanatic!

    Apr 26, 2005
    3,373
    1,159
  15. WBahn

    Moderator

    Mar 31, 2012
    17,743
    4,792
    RRITESH,

    PLEASE, one problem at a time (in a given thread). You posted several problems and have created utter chaos because no one can keep track of which problem a given response is for.

    Start ONE thread on ONE problem, provide YOUR best attempt to solve that ONE problem, and focus on that ONE problem until you understand the solution.
     
    Hypatia's Protege likes this.
  16. WBahn

    Moderator

    Mar 31, 2012
    17,743
    4,792
    This makes no sense at all. Leaving aside the fact that your ammeters are should 2.4 GA (i.e., 2,400,000,000 amperes), the fact that they are all the same means NO current is flowing downward through ANY of the resistors that are connected between meters. Hence R1, R2, and R2 are ALL acting like open circuits. Then assuming that your 2.400G should be 2.400m, R4 is behaving like a 5 kΩ resistor.
     
  17. JoeJester

    AAC Fanatic!

    Apr 26, 2005
    3,373
    1,159
    @RRITESH KAKKAR

    A more realistic problem for the first one would be stated like the attached as your simulations perfect supply is capable of GigaAmperes:
     
    RRITESH KAKKAR likes this.
  18. RRITESH KAKKAR

    Thread Starter Senior Member

    Jun 29, 2010
    2,831
    89
    [​IMG]

    How to know there is no output seen?
    so, one does not know whether circuit working or not?
     
  19. #12

    Expert

    Nov 30, 2010
    16,283
    6,795
    4 outputs are seen. They are labeled as 12A after each amp meter.
    YOU don't know, but only because you can't read the labels.
     
  20. Hypatia's Protege

    Distinguished Member

    Mar 1, 2015
    2,781
    1,230
    Aye! That was my principal issue with the 'rectangular' blocks!:eek::eek::eek:
     
Loading...