Electromagnet for "Football Game

Michigan Joe

Joined Aug 24, 2010
Hello all. I am new to this forumn and I was really impressed with the sharing of ideas and information here. I am doing a project that has brought me to a point where I need some outside help and I was hoping to get some ideas/feedback from people here.

First to give you a little back ground on my project, I am a hobbyist that is building a super sized ELECTRIC FOOTBALL Board. Yes thats right, an old school game from the 60s-80s where the metal board vibrates and the football players scoot across it. What I want to drive the vibration of the metal field is an electormagnet run on AC power (similar to how the old Tudor company did it in the past). However, I need a more powerful electromagnet than what was used back in the day because my supersized field is much larger and more structural. After many various types of motor sources, I have come to the conclusion that the linear vibration I get from an electromagnet (on AC power) is the absolute best thing for the job (for vibration characteristic purposes). I've had some early success of vibrating my field with a coil that is ~550 wraps, 24 guage wire (~2.5 ohms) around a spindle with a cold rolled steel core. My main problem is [1] overheating...when power is supplied by a rail power 1370 (19VAC, 18VA) I get the magnetic power I want but the coil gets really hot to touch within 90 seconds. It doesn't seem to cause major damage (yet) but it seems too hot. FYI, I measured the voltage and current across the leads of the coil is ~16VAC and 2.5A (which surprised me because isn't that higher than the 18VA power source??). Then I got a 9VAC/1A power wall transformer and then my second problem arrose...I seemed to [2] damage the transformer which I believe may be due to inductive kick back voltage that my low voltage transformer couldn't handle.

Now on to my questions: