Electro magnet alternating circuit

customwelds

Joined Aug 6, 2011
Hi everyone,
Im excited to be part of this site as I'm new to circuits and this forum.
I have been reading up on some things and I'm trying to make a circuit that will alternate power to two small electro magnets. While I'm testing the circuit, I'm using leds just to make sure everything is working properly. And that's where the problem comes in.... it's not.
I found a diagram online, http://wild-bohemian.com/electronics/flasher.html

and have attempted making it multiple times nows to no avail. At first I thought, maybe the transistors were backward, so I reversed the collector and emitter, no fix, same with the capacitors trying each seperatly of course. I even purchased new transistors to make sure they were NPN and not PNP. Still no fix. The problem I'm having is that while the leds light up, they dont alternate, both are on, and thats about it. I'm pretty sure that the problem is "right under my nose" and I simply cant figure it out (I already feel pretty dumb about not being able to put together a simple circuit). Any advice you can give would be extremely helpful as Ive been up since last night trying to get it to work.

More info on the project,
Its a mock hand for a non time keep clock, (the hand will tick back and forth instead of going in a circle, like an upside down pendulum) being made for my fiance's birthday. The hand will tilt left and right from the forces of the two electro magnets on either side of it, the magnets work well at moving the hand with 5 volts 500ma as its pretty well balanced.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
The frequency of this circuit is so high that a human will think both leds are on all the time when it is working correctly. Either look at it with a 'scope or increase the capacitor size to 100uf. PS, be sure those crossed capacitor wires are not touching.

edit. Oops. I think I'm wrong. Somebody double check me, please.

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007