electrical schematic symbols

doinky

Joined Jul 19, 2011
On a refrigerator schematic I am studying. There is a term i am not familiar with. It is called Tab. To test a voltage the instructions say test from J7-9 to Tab 1. The J79 is neutral on the board and Tab1 goes into the power board. It is a black wire. So I am assuming Tab means black something. Either the wire or the connection at the board. It is on the high voltage side which is 120 volts. Are there any good reading material on schematics, testing and power boards. Can't seem to find any information on this subject. Of course I could post a sample of the schematic I am looking at if need be. But someone may know what these terms mean. I assume J stands for junction, not sure and Tab, I have no clue.

Joined Nov 30, 2010
Tab might mean terminal block. Non-standard happens. If there was a note somewhere on the drawing explaining all the non-standard symbols, life would be easier.

Just do a search for "schematic symbols" and you will get many pages of results.
Don't forget to search for "images" of schematic symbols, too.

Kermit2

Joined Feb 5, 2010
The most common item refered to as a 'TAB', will be a male spade connector which is soldered into the board, or attached to a module, or motor. The connector is for a female spade connector on the end of a wire.

This is the most common reference, but not the ONLY reference for which 'TAB' will be used in schematics.

doinky

Joined Jul 19, 2011
That definition sounds good enough to me. Tab is a weird abbreviation for a terminal. But, that's O.K. with me. No need to upload a pic. Would still like to know if anyone knows of a good book or information about reading and testing power boards with AC and DC currents. I know that mostly comes with practice, but are most of these designs pretty standard, I mean a black wire to control board being common and a white wire being neutral. Testing! Things like that!

Kermit2

Joined Feb 5, 2010