Electrical engineering or mechanical engineering

Abbin

Joined May 13, 2014
I am now in confusion with which engineering study i should do. I like both electrical and mechanical stuffs but without much thought decided to do EE previously. Recently one of my Mech. relative told me I was going to regret my decision as Mech. knows manything about electrical stuffs and have better job prospect. Well i know he was just bragging it. However it instigated me to think thoroughly and I want to know what sort of course and work exposure i can get in EE study so that i can follow my interest and i think people around here could help. Just going to start my undergraduate study in coming month.

Last edited:

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Mechanical Engineering is a discipline unto itself, I suspect you are hearing arrogance speaking.

I have met more than one EE that has gone into programing, much of the mindset is the same and the money is really good.

I am not a EE, I am a EE tech. I can tell you within electronics there are many disciplines, no one can know it all. Especially in Electronic Engineering.

elec_mech

Joined Nov 12, 2008
Recently one of my Mech. relative told me I was going to regret my decision as Mech. knows manything about electrical stuffs and have better job prospect.
Ha-ha-ha! Whew, I needed a good laugh.

Most EE's and ME's I've met stick with their specific field. This means you won't find most ME's who know much more than a basic sense of electronics nor EE's who know a great deal about mechanics. Most I say, not all.

I have a degree in ME, but I've worked as an ME, EE, and software engineer. ME and EE have, dare I say it, the most job opportunities because each field is very broad.