Electrical Engineering Degree

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by Khalid Abur-Rahman, Jul 24, 2010.

1. Khalid Abur-Rahman

Thread Starter Active Member

Dec 25, 2008
    Is getting an Electrical Engineering degree even worth it??.. I graduated from ITT Tech with a bachelors degree in Electronics. I wanted something better, so I decided to do University all over again as normal colleges don't accept ITT's credits. I'm currently enrolled, now I am thinking if getting a whole other bachelors will even be worth it. I'll have it with a major or minor in Electronics. Is the job market still good for Electrical Engineers??

2. mikeysela

Jul 24, 2010
    yea, get your electrical engineering degress and your p.eng. It gives you much more options to move ahead into managments positions than a technician degree. i.e = more money in the future

3. tubelite

Jul 20, 2010
    i've questioned this so many times. I was a part time math major and had no interest in the subject. Then i asked myself would a change in fields help me and what would i like to do. I decided that i wanted to apply myself with electronics, so, i chose EE. I loved learning about all types of circuits and electromagnetics and etc, although alot of the professors i delt with were really horrible. that's part of it i guess.

I just graduated and got hired as an EE for a pretty big company and i enjoy what i do everyday. I don't see myself in the future managing (i'd be a horrible manager) but designing. I study, eat and breathe circuits and EE stuff. I think you should ask yourself is this a field you enjoy and will enjoy for most of my working life or does it progress you towards your goals (yeah you have to set goals). ofcoarse money is a plus but i figure you gotta enjoy the stuff you are going to be doing. Either way, have fun. well, that's my rant....time for a midnight snack

Sorry my grammer is horrible

4. mikeysela

Jul 24, 2010
    May I ask what big company you are working for?