EIKO GTL-2 UV-C Germicidal Bulb

magic_eyes

Joined Apr 13, 2012
Hey,

I am an engineering student trying to power a 10V 2W (and thus a .22 A) UV germicidal bulb. Our project is to make a solar powered water purifying bottle that utilizes this bulb. The solar panel will charge two 9v batteries in series outputting to a ~80 ohm resistor connected to the bulb and then back to the solar panel all in series. Upon trying to complete this circuit many times with no success of lighting the bulb at all I called the company, EIKO. They are confident the bulb is functioning and believe the error to be in my circuitry. The tech help stated that the bulb works over a discharge path. He said this may result in the bulb (or something in the circuit) providing infinite resistance. I have received schematics of the bulb itself to confirm this. Any ideas as to what I am doing wrong? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you,

Ryan

magic_eyes

Joined Apr 13, 2012
I just got the bulb to work. The key was just strength of connections and wiring the 75 ohm resistor in parallel with a capacitor.

Ron H

Joined Apr 14, 2005
I just got the bulb to work. The key was just strength of connections and wiring the 75 ohm resistor in parallel with a capacitor.
Congratulations on getting the bulb to work.
The resistor is a huge power waster. Efficiency is very important in battery powered equipment. Unless your circuit is just for proof of concept, you should consider a switching regulator.

magic_eyes

Joined Apr 13, 2012
Interesting. I'll need to do some research myself but where in the circuit would this go? Still in parallel with the capacitor? Or simply replacing that parallel system? My friend also recommended a super-capacitor which I need to look into. Thanks for the advice!

Ron H

Joined Apr 14, 2005