Effect/s of soldering Transistor into PCB?

ppoorrttee

Joined Nov 23, 2008
I'm a third year student of BSECE course here in the Philippines, and one of our project is to construct an amplifier with transistor (must be NPN transistor), and the voltage gain that we must get is 40 with Vcc as 12V.

I used BC337-25 transistor then I get it's data from a datasheet. According to it, the beta ranges between 150-400. In other words, I don't know exactly what the beta is, in order to use the formulas given to us.
The only solution that I did was to costruct a circuit (it's a fixed bias amplifier considering no load), I used 12Mohms for the Rb and 1kohm for Rc. Then Use the formulas to find the beta first. After constructing the circuit, I used function generator together with an oscilloscope to check the V input and V output signal produced to see whether it really amplifies or not, and if it amplifies, to get the voltage gain of the circuit I've made. The Gain is only 7.

I substitute all the data to these formulas

Av=Rc/re

re=26mV/Ie

Vcc-IbRb-Vbe=0

Ie=(β + 1)Ib

where

Vcc=12v

Rb=12Mohms

Rc=1kohms

Av=7

Solving it gives beta as approximately equal to 205. (Not that upon performing the experiment, I only used a bread board so that it will be easier for me to construct another circuit).

Retaining Rb and using Av=40 and beta which is 205, and using the formulas mentioned, I computed Rc to be 5.7kohms. The actual gain I got using function generator and oscilloscope is 40-42.

But the project must be placed in PCB! So I design a circuit in PCB, and solder all the components in it. After that, I test it again, and to my surprise, the voltage gain increased to 62! I compute the new beta and it became 330. So again I compute th Rc retaining all other components. I got 3.5kohms. So I replaced the Rb in the PCB. Desolder it, then solder the new Rb. To my big surprise when our professor checked the gain, it's only 30-33.