easy to make led strobe

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by c.marsh, May 16, 2009.

1. c.marsh

Thread Starter Active Member

May 16, 2009
    okay so i've been searching and cant really gfind waht i need.

what i want to do is to make a strobe light using 40 or 08 white ultrabright leds.
    20/40 leds wire circuit wire 20/40 leds
    the layout would be ++++++++-------(-----)-------++++++++

both sides need to flash at a speedy rate but the rate needs to be adjustable and powered from a 9v battery cell.

this is kind of a long shot but does someone know where a schematic for this is or possibly draw up a stripboard layout schematic for this and i also need a list of components. im new to the led circuit scene so it needs to be simple. thanks everyone :D

btw only other circuit i have made are basic led lamps and a 8 led random flasher. these are for a camping trip. we go camping so often trying to make it more interesting

2. CDRIVE

Jul 1, 2008
    The first thing to do is abandon your desire for a 9V battery as your power source. They are feeble!

3. mik3

Feb 4, 2008
    A 555 astable circuit can give you a wide range of flashing rates if you use a pot to vary its oscillation frequency. Also, you will need a few transistors to drive the LEDs because the 555 cannot do it by itself.

4. c.marsh

May 16, 2009

well i've ran a 9v for the 8 led flasher (that is actually powering 16) and runs okay. but anyway it has to be run from batteries.

5. c.marsh

May 16, 2009

thats for the detailed information. thats what i require detialed information hahaa. but what do you mean by a pot?

6. mik3

Feb 4, 2008
    By pot I mean a potentiometer.

7. CDRIVE

Jul 1, 2008
  8. c.marsh

May 16, 2009
    ahhh now i get a pot lol

those links are useful. but from what i've read the multirivrabtor thingy is just part of the strobe circuit right?

9. mik3

Feb 4, 2008
    Yes it is. It will generate the frequency at which the light will strobe.

10. c.marsh

May 16, 2009