Easy Question for You Guys I'm Sure (#001)

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by olnoob, Jun 26, 2013.

1. olnoob

Thread Starter New Member

Jun 26, 2013
    OK. 42 year-old newbie here. Dad was an electrician and I grew up helping wire buildings. Built some simple electronic stuff as a kid. Never took a class or learned what a crystal is. Just last week became down with diodes. Basically, when it comes to electronics I'm a 6 year-old. But now I'm fulfilling a lifelong dream of building a coin-operated video arcade in my home (I currently have 29 complete machines and 17 circuit boards) and I'm presently realizing the need to build and customize testing equipment and I'm going to be posting some ignorant questions. I hope this is the place. If not please feel free to point me in the right direction.

Thank you.

OK. I bought a 5v DC relay at Radio Shack. The schematic printed on the back looks like this:

Relay Schematic 01.png

I research and see that the symbol in the lower left means "induction coil". I think I get it. Running a circuit through the coil creates a magnetic field that moves the arm AWAY from the coil. The image shown is resting state, during which time whatever current is terminated in the lower right [marked "source" on the following diagram] will pass through to that terminated at the upper left [marked "A"]; activating the relay (by applying 5v and Ground to the coil) will break the aforesaid connection and move the source current to that labeled "B".

Relay Schematic 02.png

Am I right? I want to be sure before I solder this thing in.

Also, will wiring the coil backwards have any effect on the magnetic field it generates, rendering this thing inoperable? And, if so, then what goes on the left, 5v or ground?

Any help very much appreciated.
  2. gerty

AAC Fanatic!

Aug 30, 2007
    Looks like you have it figured out. Reversing polarity will not have any effect on it.
  3. Bernard

AAC Fanatic!

Aug 7, 2008