Earthing and case positive devices.

Diachi1

Joined May 27, 2009
Hello,

Quick Introduction before I ask my question !

My name is Adam Gordon, I am from the UK. I am a Laser Hobbiest and I have built many lasers. I have a keen interest in electronics and Gerneral physics, and I am currently studying Higher level physics and chemistry.

Today I recieved my new green laser which is to be installed in my laser projector build. However this laser is case positive and the housing for the projector is earthed, will it be safe to install this laser in this case without having insulation between the case and the laser module ? I really don't want to cause a short and blow up £50 worth of laser !

Any help is much appreciated ! :D

Regards,

Adam

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Talk about the power supplies. Many of them aren't grounded nowdays, are both of these?

Welcome aboard. I used to have to mess with lasers, for soldering and adjusting resistors.

The green xenon's were pretty fun, we used them to cut gold traces.

Diachi1

Joined May 27, 2009
Both power supplies are mains powered, one is earthed the other is not. the one that is earthed is bolted onto the case, which is all metal, this power supply provides power to all the Galvo amps and DMX board. The laser power supply will be mounted above the metal case, so thats not a problem. it's the laser head that is case positive. :) I wanted to bolt the head straight onto the case, but I'm unsure if this would cause problems or not. I've not done too much with mains power, it's mainly voltage/current regulated drivers I've built , but they were powered by regulated voltage or batteries.

Lasers are great ! The green xenons you are talking about, I think your talking about xenon flashlamp pumped green lasers ? A few guys I know use them for laser shows. :cool:

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008