Eagle: no resistor wattages? No standard case styles?

Discussion in 'Electronics Resources' started by DMahalko, Jun 30, 2012.

  1. DMahalko

    Thread Starter Active Member

    Oct 5, 2008
    174
    14
    Good grief, Eagle's component library is annoying.

    It's really difficult to say "show me all sizes of 1 watt resistors" in Eagle's standard component library. Instead there's:

    • US-0204/5
    • US-0204/7
    • US-0207/2v
    • US-0207/5v
    • US-0207/7
    • US-0207/10
    • US-0207/12
    • US-0207/15
    • US-0309/10
    • US-0309/12
    • etc
    The descriptions for each of these explains almost nothing at all:

    RESISTOR, American symbol
    Package: 0411V
    RESISTOR
    type 0411, grid 3.81 mm

    Woohoo, thanks for telling me it's a resistor twice in every description but not bothering to say what standard wattages each of these corresponds to.


    Also there's no general database of case styles like TO-3, TO-218, TO-220, etc. Noooo, instead we have to copy these cases off of some other manufacturer's part that has been arbitrarily included in the Eagle component library.

    Are they trying to be ridiculously over-technical and obtuse about component shapes on purpose? "We can't know in advance what size or length of resistor you might want or might someday exist (hey wirewound might possibly be fatter than solid for the same wattage) so we're not even going to try to offer a generality of which sizes are which for typical resistor wattages."

    I just want to do a basic, compact layout of parts and make use of the autorouting feature. .... and then redo the calculated routing result by hand in ExpressPCB....

    Heh.
     
  2. Wendy

    Moderator

    Mar 24, 2008
    20,765
    2,535
    Which is why I went with Express. Every package has a plus and minus.

    There was a short while I was making PCB layouts with M/S Paint. A very short while.
     
  3. Pencil

    Active Member

    Dec 8, 2009
    271
    38
    Actually all the pertinent dimensional data is there.
    Check datasheets or component drawings for the
    dimensions of your selected component and choose
    the closest one or create your own.

    Example: US-0204/5 or US-204/5V
    US = US symbol. Grid will be in inches (probably nearest .1 or .05 inch increment)
    02 = 2mm (≈.08 inches) body diameter
    04 = 4mm (≈.16 inches) body length
    /5 = 5mm (≈.200 inches) lead spacing. (Note: US designation)
    or
    /5V = Vertical orientation with 5 mm lead spacing

    I would say no.

    At its core the software is a technical drawing tool, and any technical
    drawing is based on accurate dimensions, not "generalizations of size by type".
    The real dimension of objects is critical for manufacture.
    I personally applaud the makers of the software for allowing it to be
    distributed freely, albeit with its minor limititations for the hobbiest/nonprofessional.

    Not intending to be overly critical, just presenting an alternative viewpoint.
     
    Last edited: Jun 30, 2012
  4. BMorse

    Senior Member

    Sep 26, 2009
    2,675
    234
    Been using eagle cad for years, never had an issue i could not quickly resolve with all the available user files and the ability to create my own device.
     
  5. SgtWookie

    Expert

    Jul 17, 2007
    22,182
    1,728
    rcl.lbr is pretty good; it has just about all the resistors & caps one might need.

    One caveat; it is YOUR responsibility to verify that any/every furnished library component is correct for your purpose. If you fail to do this, you will sooner or later wind up with a large collection of coasters.
     
    BMorse likes this.
  6. MrChips

    Moderator

    Oct 2, 2009
    12,429
    3,360
    I'm switching over to Eagle for my first major project on Eagle. I have been using Protel EasyPlot successfully for as long as I can remember. So far everything seems to work fine. I had to create my own libraries for ADS807 and STM32F407.
     
  7. nerdegutta

    Moderator

    Dec 15, 2009
    2,515
    785
    Welcome aboard, MrChips.:):)
     
  8. MrChips

    Moderator

    Oct 2, 2009
    12,429
    3,360
    Yes, nerdegutta has shown me how easy it is to use Eagle.
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2012
  9. Eric007

    Senior Member

    Aug 5, 2011
    1,044
    33
    Alright! I've always looked for a software like this one...

    I've used 'Multisim' before but need something that professionals use...lol

    My understanding is that 'Eagle' will help me do the following:

    - designing circuit diagrams and simulating them;
    - designing PCB:
    - ...

    Am I correct? And its free...which version would you recommend? And if any link to download this...please post it!

    Thanks!
     
  10. SgtWookie

    Expert

    Jul 17, 2007
    22,182
    1,728
    Cadsoft Eagle can be downloaded at http://www.cadsoftusa.com
    The freeware version is limited to ~3"x4" PCB's, 2 layers, and 1 page schematics; otherwise it is fully functional. While that might seem limiting, you can still do a heck of a lot with a board that size.

    There is no PSPICE program supplied with Eagle. Beige Bag Software has a PSPICE program that will integrate with Eagle. Their demo used to work for 30 days before it expired. It use to cost ~$200 USD to register it, but I haven't checked lately.

    Sparkfun has a good tutorial on Eagle; you should definitely go through it. It will save you a LOT of time.
     
    Eric007 likes this.
Loading...