Eagle Cad symbol pins

sirch2

Joined Jan 21, 2013
I am fairly new to Eagle and trying to create my own component in a library for the first time. The part I want to create is a PCF8563 in an 8 pin SOIC package.

I have copied another SO8 component to my library and stated editing it but have hit a problem. The symbol I copied is drawn with 2 pins one one side and 6 on the other but the package obviously has 4 pads down each side. How do I know which pins on the symbol relate to which pins on the package?

tshuck

Joined Oct 18, 2012
I am fairly new to Eagle and trying to create my own component in a library for the first time. The part I want to create is a PCF8563 in an 8 pin SOIC package.

I have copied another SO8 component to my library and stated editing it but have hit a problem. The symbol I copied is drawn with 2 pins one one side and 6 on the other but the package obviously has 4 pads down each side. How do I know which pins on the symbol relate to which pins on the package?
Can't you name/number the pins on your symbol?

It's been a while since I used Eagle...

JohnInTX

Joined Jun 26, 2012
The symbol I copied is drawn with 2 pins one one side and 6 on the other but the package obviously has 4 pads down each side. How do I know which pins on the symbol relate to which pins on the package?
The symbol can have a different pin arrangement than the package layout.

In the symbol editor, move the pins around to suit your fancy. Make sure the little green circles are on the free ends of the package diagram (that's where the wires connect. Use NAME to name the pins (or keep the default P$1 etc).

If you have the package (PCB symbol you need) you are good to go. If not, make one to fit the physical pins of the package. Number the pads accordingly. You can also use any suitable package in the library.