Eagle board file

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by ams0401, Sep 14, 2013.

  1. ams0401

    ams0401 Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Thermopolis, WY
    Hello everyone I was wondering if anyone could turn my small design into a Eagle board file for me, Its a simple design if anyone can help I would really appreciate it thank you.

    Attached Files:

  2. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,010
    Location:
    Vermont, U.S.A. (GMT-5)
    Is there a reason why you don't want to do it? It is quite simple, and I'm sure even a beginner would be able to do the layout.

    If you really want, though, just send me a list of the part numbers and specs, and I'll do it for you. I'm happy to design small boards for members here at no cost, but I generally charge for any larger boards, especially for non-members. ;)

    Regards,
    Matt
  3. ams0401

    ams0401 Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Thermopolis, WY
    It's not really that I don't want to do it, its that when I do I'm not sure if its correct or not or if I have the placement of components correctly, like I'm not sure how close to the edge of the board to place the barrel jack things like that. I can export the design as a gerber file if that would help and then you could tell me if I have the placement right.
  4. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,010
    Location:
    Vermont, U.S.A. (GMT-5)
    You can post the Eagle .sch and .brd files here on the forum. If you send them to me I'd be happy to take a look.

    Regards,
    Matt
  5. ams0401

    ams0401 Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Thermopolis, WY
    The program I am using only lets me do gerber files. Here those are if that willl help.

    Attached Files:

  6. ams0401

    ams0401 Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Thermopolis, WY
    Oh and thank you for helping me to lol
  7. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,010
    Location:
    Vermont, U.S.A. (GMT-5)
    You're not using Eagle? I highly recommend you do, it's a great program and, while it has its limits, it works very well for most hobbyists.
  8. ams0401

    ams0401 Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Thermopolis, WY
    I'm still learning is all and just assumed that since the program I was using didn't have the option, that it was something that would be pricey for someone just learning
  9. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,010
    Location:
    Vermont, U.S.A. (GMT-5)
    Not at all, the freeware version of Eagle is just that--free. You can download it here: http://www.cadsoftusa.com/download-eagle/

    In the setup process, just tell it to run as freeware. Start off with the schematic--draw it out--then use the schematic as a reference to design the PCB layout. I think this would be a great project for a beginner to learn the ropes of Eagle projects.

    Regards,
    Matt
  10. ams0401

    ams0401 Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Thermopolis, WY
    Ok I downloaded it and I will try and see if I can get it done then I will load the file and if you wouldn't mind looking at it and telling me if its ok or not I would appreciate it.
  11. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,010
    Location:
    Vermont, U.S.A. (GMT-5)
    Absolutely. And before you start, I'll give you a hint: Avoid right-angle traces on the PCB, and allow a few millimeters clearance between the component leads/traces and the edge of the board.

    Just a couple hints to get you started. :)

    Good luck, and have fun!

    Matt
  12. SgtWookie

    SgtWookie Expert

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    22,096
    Location:
    In the vast midwest of the USA; CST
    Some things that are not immediately obvious ...

    The resistors will have voltage across them and therefore will dissipate power as heat. You have the resistors arranged all in a neat line, which is great for appearances' sake - however, it's not so good for getting rid of that heat. I suggest that you stagger the resistors to get more space between them. Also, use thick traces; it costs nothing more, and acts like a heat sink to radiate that power away from the resistors.
    ams0401 and DerStrom8 like this.
  13. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,010
    Location:
    Vermont, U.S.A. (GMT-5)
    Good to see you, Sgt!

    Excellent points. It hadn't even crossed my mind to consider the temperature factors. It would help to know what the OP is using this for, and what its power specifications are.

    Regards,
    Matt
  14. ams0401

    ams0401 Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Thermopolis, WY
    I'm going to use 12v dc
  15. ams0401

    ams0401 Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Thermopolis, WY
    Ok here's the schematic, however putting it correctly on the board is got me all messed up.

    Attached Files:

  16. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,010
    Location:
    Vermont, U.S.A. (GMT-5)
    First of all, did you use the link tool to help you transfer the schematic to the PCB? Doing it separately is very difficult and especially not recommended for beginners.
  17. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,010
    Location:
    Vermont, U.S.A. (GMT-5)
    Also, when creating schematics, avoid angled lines as much as possible. Try to keep them at right angles, and do not overlap other components. Also try to avoid overlapping text.
  18. ams0401

    ams0401 Thread Starter Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2013
    Messages:
    35
    Location:
    Thermopolis, WY
    Yeah I used the link tool but when I do the airwires are all over the place and crossing each other and going to the wrong spots
  19. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,010
    Location:
    Vermont, U.S.A. (GMT-5)
    Furthermore, after closer examination of the schematic, only the first resistor is connected. Do not connect a wire horizontal to and directly touching the resistor lead. This won't connect them. Use a small wire to connect the resistor end to the long vertical wire.
  20. DerStrom8

    DerStrom8 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    2,010
    Location:
    Vermont, U.S.A. (GMT-5)
    That's because you still need to route it.
Similar Threads
Forum Title Date
The Projects Forum Help with Eagle Board File retrieval Sep 23, 2009
The Projects Forum Brushless Motor Control with Beaglebone Nov 30, 2014
The Projects Forum Eagle library/footprint for Honeywell SS495 Oct 29, 2014
The Projects Forum How to generate PAD file from Eagle Sep 26, 2014
The Projects Forum eagle pcb design questions Sep 25, 2014

Related Site Pages

Share This Page