Dynamic shifting of resistance?

psychoboy

Joined Jan 9, 2014
I googled Ohm Amplifier and got all the speaker links you might ever want.

so....I searched thru some threads on here and found some that got near what I was looking for, but I couldn't find a clear solution,

so..... I registered and thought I'd ask outright.

I have a level gauge that shows full at 2-5ohm and empty at 105-110ohm.

I have a level sender that gives 0ohm at full and 70ohm at empty.

I imagine I could piggy back a resistor on the sender and get the gauge to read correctly at one end, but it would come up half short or way long on the other.

Is there a way to amplify the resistance dynamically so I can be accurate on both ends?

if my math is correct, i'd need a flat 3ohm push at 0 (sender output), with a .5ohm per ohm linear rise.

full: 0+3+(0x.5) = 3
empty: 70+3+(70x.5) = 108

Thanks for any help!
Hope I'm not coming off as a complete newb.....:)

Last edited:

MikeML

Joined Oct 2, 2009
A current source applied to a variable resistor (your sender) makes a voltage proportional to the resistance value.

An opamp can be configured to provide independently adjustable gain and adjustable offset.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
I have a level gauge that shows full at 2-5ohm and empty at 105-110ohm.
Your level gauge is likely not so much an ohmmeter as it is a current meter. That is, the needle deflection is proportional to the current passing through the meter. Just a guess. Or it's responding linearly to applied voltage.

crutschow

Joined Mar 14, 2008
Assuming the sender is a rheostat in series with the gauge you might try adding a resistor in parallel with the gauge to reduce its sensitivity. It's value will depend upon the gauge resistance. Can you measure that?

Last edited:

psychoboy

Joined Jan 9, 2014
crutschow: I can measure it, but i don't have it in front of me at the moment.