Dynamic object names

jakegwood

Joined Apr 13, 2011
In any language, (though I am thinking java or PHP), how would I create a dynamic object name? I am fairly new to programming in general and it's something that's been bothering me. So if a user made an account on a website or a ew user on a program, I suppose I could save all the users as an array of objects whose class contains a name variable. But is there a way to actual name the object User. That is a user could enter "John Smith" and a new variable would be created called "John Smith" to which he could input other information and parameters? Or are user objects just all stored in an array of users?

Thanks.

someonesdad

Joined Jul 7, 2009
I don't use java or php, so I can't give any advice there. In a compiled language (e.g., C or C++), the variable names are not relevant at runtime -- they've been removed by the compiler. However, if you wanted to look up the information of someone named "John Smith", you could store the information in a variable (often an array, list, or some other data structure) and use another data structure (e.g. a hash or map) to get to that array entry when given the name "John Smith".

In some interpreted languages, you can define new variables dynamically. However, in a language like python, you'd have to deal with the fact that you couldn't name the variable "John Smith", since variable names are not allowed to contain space characters. But I don't know anyone who would do it that way anyway; I'd use a map to get from the name to the data, assuming the names are unique.

jakegwood

Joined Apr 13, 2011
Well, I mean the space wasn't really I was getting at. Let's just assume the user is John. So here is no way that a user could create a new variable "John" and then assign a value to that? It would just have to be an object in an array with a variable in the user class for the name?