driving relay

egypte

Joined Sep 4, 2013
Hello,

I'm a beginner in electronics, but somehow I have got to make a circuit to drive a relay. So here it goes

My goal is to drive a DPDT relay ( 5V, 106 mA ) so I'm able to switch the current direction in an external coil. I'm using a DAQ and a mosfet.(RFD14N05L)

In order to drive the gate voltage I use the Digital input/output (5V) of the DAQ. When I don't want to switch current direction, the Digital output is off, when I want to swith the current of the coil, I put the Digital output on. (5V)

The source of the mosfet is connected to the USB ground of the DAQ. See the scheme below.

The problem is that it doesn't appear to work. When I put the digital output on ( in order to get 5V on the gate ), and I measure it with a multimeter I only get Vgs = 0.3 mV

also Vds = 5V and Vgd = 4.7V
So clearly there is a problem somewhere, but I really can't find where... so I thought it was time to get some help.

http://tinypic.com/r/1zoksw9/5

Last edited:

shortbus

Joined Sep 30, 2009
Is your DAQ able to source and sink voltage? Or do you need a pull-up to source the voltage out put? A mosfet driver may be needed.

strantor

Joined Oct 3, 2010
Right now it looks like you are trying to use a signal from one presumed isolated circuit to another presumed isolated circuit but they have no common reference point so it can't work. I think you need to incorporate the two circuits; USB ground needs to be connected to your DAQ ground and then put your resistor from gate (D I/O) to USB +5V.

Before connecting the two grounds, make sure there is no voltage between them.

egypte

Joined Sep 4, 2013
Hello,

I use this one
http://www.emant.com/pdf/EMANT300Spec.pdf

When I just test the pins of the Digital IO and the USB GND I get 5V

Using 2 external power supplies:
when I put Vgs = 5V on the gate, I get 4 mA.