Driving LED to full brightness

Cyberduke

Joined Mar 5, 2011
HI, I am kind of new to electronics but 'n am very eager to learn. I am looking for a simple cuircut to drive a LED to full brightness using only one AA cell. Any help or suggestions will be appreciated. ps. Sorry for any launguge or spelling mistakes English is not my first language,

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Hmmm, it can be done, but not simply. You didn't mention color, different colors of LEDs need different voltages to turn on, after that it is the current that is important. Once a LED is conducting, the current determines the brightness.

Red LEDs typically need at least 2.2V, sometimes up to 2.6V depending on the part.

Blue LEDs start at around 3.3V, and go up to 3.7V. White are modified blue LEDs.

See the problem? You don't have enough voltage.

There is a solution, make a simple joule thief. A Joule Thief boosts the voltage from a single battery using several transistors, but maximum brightness is not predictable anymore.

Your call, how do you want to go?

I have a tutorial on LEDs and more advanced projects...

LEDs, 555s, Flashers, and Light Chasers

BTW, Welcome to AAC!

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008
Do you have specs? A datasheet answers a lot of questions before they're asked.

Right now I'm tentatively assuming 3.0Vf at 20ma, maybe 30ma.

Check out Chapter 7 - The Joule Thief, Figure 7.1

There are much better designs out there though.

Cyberduke

Joined Mar 5, 2011
Hi here is what I did: 'n build this execact joule thief

http://trailfriendlyradio.blogspot.com/2008/12/ki6sn-trail-friendly-joule-thief.html

But it is not working correctly.('n have used a blue LED) When 'n plug the wire that came from the bead(I have used a small ferrite bead-about a 1cm in diameter) the Led stays off but when 'n plug the wire out it flickers quick. I am not shure where my mistake lay. Any help would be appreciated.

Wendy

Joined Mar 24, 2008