Door Open Too Long

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by mws7497, Apr 17, 2015.

1. mws7497

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 17, 2015
    Hi all,

I'm a complete newbie to electronics. I have recently taken over running a community centre, which daily has children and vulnerable adults in the centre daily. We have a problem with people either leaving the main door open or nursery staff standing with the door open whilst they talk to parents.

I built a simple battery operated buzzer with a NC magnetic switch. People are ignoring it so I would like to create a timer circuit that would, after a period of time, say 15 seconds, set off a more annoying alarm.

2. MikeML

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 2, 2009
    NC implies that the switch is closed when the door is closed????

How does that actuate the buzzer?

What powers the buzzer?

3. MrChips

Oct 2, 2009
    If NC means that the switch is normally closed when there is no magnet and therefore the switch is open when the door is closed then that is preferred.
    In this case, you can use the switch to power the circuit which will conserve battery power.

In either case, if you use a microcontroller, the code can be designed to consume minimum power (less than 1μA) when the alarm is not active.

4. Dodgydave

AAC Fanatic!

Jun 22, 2012
    you would be better off educating your staff and parents, not to stand in the doorway and to keep the doors closed, as well as the annoying siren.

Last edited: Apr 17, 2015
  5. Reloadron

Jan 15, 2015