Dont Understand AMPS

Discussion in 'Homework Help' started by Ala888, Jun 26, 2014.

1. Ala888

Thread Starter New Member

Jun 26, 2014
    Untitled.png

Hi, Im a new electronics hobbyist!

One major problem I have stumbled upon is the idea of how electricity takes
    the least path of resistance. If 2 paths are presented then the path with
    least resistance will be taken by the electrons, while the higher resistance path
    will get only a minuscule amount of current.

Yet, I dont understand the reasoning behind my diagram.
    If it is correct, then shouldnt current(a decent amount) flow only through the
    black wire? How come one green wire only gets 0.00001 amps, while the other gets 2amps? Shouldnt it be 0.000002 also? How do they differ from one and another?

2. inwo

Nov 7, 2013
    "the path of least resistance" assumes limited "amps".

In your diagram, unlimited amps are implied. Amps will flow in each circuit independent of the other. Limited by respective resistance to flow.

3. Ala888

Jun 26, 2014
    I'm sorry, but I dont quite follow what you just said. Im just a giant noob!
    could you post a corrected version of my diagram, or use laymans terms?
    Thanks for the help

4. R!f@@

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 2, 2009
    Ur diagram makes no sense to me.

Why is there a short between the 10 ohm resistor ?

5. Artbuc

Jun 8, 2014
    Because you are showing a short across one of the the 10Ω resistors. The only resistance in parallel with that 10Ω resistor is that of the wire which is practically zero.

6. Jony130

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 17, 2009
  7. Ala888

Jun 26, 2014
    Okay, so there are 2 green wires
    Both have 10 ohm resistors
    The one on the top right gets almost no current because it is parallel with a wire, which
    has no resistance. As such, current prefers the wire a lot more.