Doing some research on recording NTSC digitally

sstbrg

Joined Nov 29, 2008
I'm hoping to find a rather simple and cheap solution to capture, compress and record a NTSC video input.

I'll probably be using ADV7180 for capturing a NTSC signal and converting it to 8bit YCrCb.
I'm hoping to use a FPGA for compression and as a storage controller for a fast SD card. I guess the design will also require several RAMs, maybe other ICs I haven't thought about...

I'm fairly new with video and just started researching this field, so any tips you can throw at me will be a huge help. Am I in the right direction here? Should I use a dedicated IC for the compression? Are there any development kits to help me out?

tom66

Joined May 9, 2009
You should probably consider using a dedicated video compression system.

Using an FPGA is going to mean considerable time and money spent on trying to make an MPEG (or whatever you want) encoder to fit into an FPGA.

sstbrg

Joined Nov 29, 2008
Yeah I did some more research, and it's a huge huge investment of time to code an MPEG (or other) encoder, may take quite a long time.

So I'm looking into dedicated compression ICs - any help with that will be welcome. I'm planning to place it between the video decoder and the FPGA. Hopefully, most of the time will go into writing the encapsulation and storage controller for the Virtex FPGA. I may use large SD cards for recording (may as well be tens of GB), so storage space isn't really a huge problem.

tom66

Joined May 9, 2009
Well, you can get processors like the TI DaVinci, which AFAIK can assist with encoding video. But they are about $69/ea.

marshallf3

Joined Jul 26, 2010
Don't forget Conexant, they were one of the first to make the chips used on the early TV cards you could add to your PC and turn it into a DVR and I believe to this day they're still very active in this technology.

kubeek

Joined Sep 20, 2005