does this schematic look right to you ?

reapairman

Joined Dec 27, 2011
i've drawn part of my fan controller that I'm reverse engineering.

I'm new to eagle so it's a bit messy and incomplete but the main part I am trying to figure out is the top right circuit that provides power to 7 ic's - phillips CMOS hef 14 pin schmitts and nands invertors etc. 2 IR2106s mosfet drivers and 2 unknown ic's so far.

If it's a commonly used power supply could someone tell me what kind it is ?

also one of the components I've listed as ZD10 - not sure if it is actally a zener. the 2 red bands are closest to the gate of the mosfet.

it's got red,red,black,silver bands on it and can be seen in the pic below, just below the 1002 resistor.

Also, the motor states 24VDC nominal and it looks like the B+ for the mosfets -> coils is much higher than that. anybody know why ?

I've attached the eagle schematic too.

many thanks

Attachments

Joined Nov 30, 2010
It seems pretty odd to me that the main supply voltage is 335V DC.
Are you seeing capacitors (C5) that are labeled for more than 335 volts?
Still, the IRF830 can handle that, if that isn't the part that exploded.
The red, red thing is inconsequential at this point, it is 22 ohms, 5%.
ZD9 is of interest as to its value. See if you can get a voltage measurement on that.
You're going to be measuring voltages, really high voltages that can kill you.
Are you prepared for that?

reapairman

Joined Dec 27, 2011
thanks for your reply #12, yes the capacitor on the B+ rail (c5) is rated at 400v 200uf - from memory.

ah so ZD10 is actually a resistor - thanks.

I will update the schematic.

high voltage is ok, as long you respect it and dont give it tongue on the first date. ;)

I'm used to working on valve amps, so try to tread carefully with electricity.

saying that, I 've still shocked myself many a time, although usually not through my heart (hand to hand), just finger to floor, through thick shoes and a mat underfoot.