Do you ever memorize circuits? What if you have to rebuild it?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by NathanielZhu, May 29, 2016.

1. NathanielZhu

Thread Starter Member

Dec 5, 2011
    The nature of learning electronics confuses me and I've been in the hobby for a few years.

When you've designed something nice, what do you do to keep that knowledge?
    - Is it memorized?
    - Is it written down but otherwise forgotten?
    - Do you understand it so well that it becomes pointless to memorize or write down?
    - How complex does your design need to be until you start writing stuff down?

Since I majored in the natural sciences, most of what I learn comes from memorizing facts. I can then visualize the facts and create a big picture. But the weakness I had with natural sciences is that even though I could picture how things worked, the knowledge was useless practically. At least by itself. But computer science and electronics was the opposite. The knowledge was useful and I can build stuff but I can't explain why something works past, I put this and this together and it just worked.

Ever since middle school, I've also had a computer hobby where I don't ever memorize facts. I learned by doing. Programming had no facts that I memorized- I just did many projects.

But doing has always felt very shallow to me. The code worked because it just worked. Or trying many ideas until one worked and then just remembering how it worked but not really getting why.

Since entering the electronics and mechanical hobby, it seems again that I learned by doing.
    But that makes me wonder, are there any aspects of electronics that's like the natural sciences?

For example, I'd read the datasheet for 555 timer and it gives me two circuits- astable and monostable schematic.
    Then I'd follow it and build it and everything turns out working fine.