Do I need a PICkit?

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by ke5nnt, Dec 31, 2010.

1. ke5nnt

Thread Starter Active Member

Mar 1, 2009
    Let me explain briefly what I'm doing.

I know enough assembly to get by, I want to learn C. When I started learning assembly I had to have a way to program the chips I was writing code for, so I bought an ebay chinese special that I can program PIC micros with, so I already have what I need to program chips, and I'm familiar with MPLab IDE since that's what I've been using to write ASM with.

So, my question is, is it worth buying a PICkit at this point? Will there be some benefit over just IDE and a programmer when doing C programming that PICkit can offer me? And, if the answer is yes, then please answer the following question as well...

Would I be better off buying PICkit 2 Debug Express or the PICkit 2 Starter Kit.

Thanks for the advice, as always.

2. marshallf3

Jul 26, 2010
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2010
  3. spinnaker

AAC Fanatic!

Oct 29, 2009

If you want to program PICs you do not need a PICkit but you will need some form of programmer.

There are other 3rd party programmers out there but that is it, they are programmers and that is it.

A PICkit will allow you to debug inline too. This is extremely useful for the newbie like you and me.

I cannot speak to the PICKit 2 line of products, since I own the PICKit3. But the PICKit2 is now obsolete. It is not supposed to work on any chips produced after September 2010. But the 2 is supposed to have one or two features the 3 does not have like a rudimentary logic analyzer.

If you want to program in C then PICKit2 or 3 will work but you really should concentrate on the 18F family of PICs.

And compilers are free for a large number of types of compilers from various companies. Most are crippled a but by dialing back some optimization but they should work fine for you.

4. t06afre

AAC Fanatic!

May 11, 2009