DMM not reading AC voltages !!!

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by LETITROLL, Oct 9, 2013.

1. LETITROLL

Thread Starter Member

Oct 9, 2013
    Hi everybody , and i want to thank you for the great electronics lectures available on this website .
    I am a 2nd year student in automation systems based on programmable automata and microcontrollers .
    So i have a Digital clamp meter that measures everything but the AC voltages .
    I have already posted my problem in another forum but didn't achieve much progress in the troubleshooting that was mainly based on guessing .
    The reason i am planning to fix my meter is that it is a high quality meter that measures high currents in both AC & DC , and it is about 300 dollars .
    What could be causing this problem ??
    [​IMG]

list of ICs on the motherboard :

NJM022B : dual low power operational amplifier
    TS27L2C : Precision very low power cmos dual amplifiers
    OP07 : Ultralow offset voltage operational amplifier
    AD736 : Low power , true RMS to DC converter
    AIC1578 : High efficiency step down DC/DC converter
    HEF4066B : quadruple bilateral switches
    NJU 9210 : 3.3/4 digit sigle chip digital multimeter LSI

2. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
    So this is a current and voltage meter?
    And it is reading everything but AC voltage?
    And like your other experiences, the answers here can only be based on guesswork, unless someone has experience exactly the same effect.
    I assume obviously for voltage you use probe lead inputs? Then it could be anything from switch contacts to the AC input circuitry, which in all probability, the first component is a rectifier set up of some kind?
    Max.

3. MaxHeadRoom

Expert

Jul 18, 2013
    A search turns that up as a clamp on current only?
    Did you mean, does not read AC current?
    My fluke meter reads strange results when the battery is low, and before the low battery indicator come on.
    Max.

4. w2aew

Jan 3, 2012