DIY camera trigger from another camera

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by huerta123, Apr 10, 2013.

1. huerta123

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 10, 2013
    Hello,

I am a photographer and like to do a lot of DIY stuff. I am researching how I could build my own camera trigger and avoid using wireless triggers which cost $$$$. What I want to do can be done with wireless triggers, but I want to build my own circuit.

I have a camera that has a pc-sync port. Everytime a photo is taken, there is a current going through this port, through a cable (this cable has only 2 poles, ground and positive). This current is received by a flash unit and it triggers the flash at the same time the camera takes the photo. This is how it works normally.

What I want to do is to be able to trigger a second camera everytime I take a photo with the first camera, instead of triggering a flash. There are a few things to take into consideration:

1. The way the second camera is triggered is by generating a short circuit. There is usually a cable connected to a jack, and by pressing a button a short circuit is generated and the camera triggers itself.
    2. I do not know what the voltage or current is coming out of the first camera (the one doing the triggering) through the pc-sync port. I still need to do this.
    3. I do not know if I should use a transistor or a relay for a switch.
    4. Because the first camera and the second camera need to be fired at the same time (so that the photo is the same on both cameras) there cannot be any lag when activating the triggering switch.
    How can I do this? The idea is to have a circuit that will detect the voltage or current change coming from the first camera and close a switch and cause a short circuit so that the second camera is triggered.

Thanks!

2. Markd77

Sep 7, 2009
    If both cameras have remote triggering it is probably better to have a box that just fires both cameras at the same time.