dissipative battery balancer

casey.mynott

Joined Dec 30, 2012
Hello all!

I have done quite a bit of searching on the topic of charging a series string of lead acid batteries and can't really come up with a good plan of attack for a solution that fits my idea of a shunt style balancer with precise control.

I have some experience bread boarding simple circuits. I have never really designed a circuit with this level of complexity but would love to get more involved with circuit design and implementation!

My example is for a 48 volt series string of 12v agm 16ah batteries. So, 4 batteries wired in series. http://www.odysseybatteries.com/battery/pc680.htm

What I understand:

When charging an AGM style 12v battery the charging profile follows Constant Current (CC) to bring the battery voltage up and then Constant Voltage (CV) to finish the charging. For this situation the AGM's I am using can see high charging current, about 25 amps. So empty, the batteries will move from an individual voltage of 11.8 to a Constant Voltage of 14.8. When all batteries are sitting at 14.8 volts with 1 amp of charging occurring the batteries are considered fully charged.

Unfortunately, with AGM lead acids, or any for that matter, over time and use, they get "out of balance" when charging a series string. So, by applying an overall charge voltage to the pack, in this case 59.2 volts (14.8v*4) total, some batteries reach absorption phase before others and their voltage is higher than it should be. Which, leads to gassing of the battery that is over voltage OR batteries that are under charged OR both.

What I am attempting to do:

Shunt the excess current in heat to allow all batteries to reach absorption phase never exceeding the max allowable of 14.8 volts per battery.

What I would like to see in the circuit design:

-Precise control of the shunting "turn on" voltage of 14 volts.