Display data coming from a USB port

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by G-Fire, Mar 4, 2014.

1. G-Fire

Thread Starter New Member

Mar 4, 2014

I'm pretty new to this embedded stuff as I'm more a software guy (I had a class though back then when I was a student), but I would like to realize a small project.

My goal is to build a display that displays data that is coming from a computer via USB. I did some research already, but I'm not sure what I need for this project.

I was planning to buy a 4.3" LCD for an SSD1963 controller. So, now I need some kind of a board, I guess. However, all development boards that I've found are too "expensive" and from my point of view overpowered. I only need a display that is showing the rendered images coming from my computer via USB. There is no additional functionality needed. Therefore, I'm looking for the cheapest solution.

What is the usual approach for such a project?

Thanks a lot!
  2. KeepItSimpleStupid

Mar 4, 2014
  3. G-Fire

Mar 4, 2014
    Thanks for your reply.

By "rendered image", I meant that the controller doesn't need to create the image to display, because it only shows what's sent from the computer.

I don't want to use HDMI, VGA or whatever, because the project is meant as an additional device.
  4. shteii01

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 19, 2010
  5. BMorse

Sep 26, 2009
    the microcontroller will still have to "know" what is being sent, so it could decipher it and convert it to data compatible to be displayed on an LCD display, you cant just receive data (not knowing the baud rate, or type of data) and automatically display it as it should be.

What device is this that is connected to the USB port that you want to monitor? Is this data going to another device also? or is this just a display you are trying to build to be able to display stuff like what song is playing on the media player, or other system information?