discrete electret balancer, low noise

isthatme

Joined Dec 2, 2009
Hello all,

i'm trying a discrete electret balancer that works on +48V phantom.
I found two almost identical schematics on the web, A and B.

I have some practical electronic skills but as a theoretic i'm a total newbie.

My questions: why the 10K resistor between collector and base, and then why can the 6K8 be removed, why was it there?
I tried experimenting but cant figure out how to get the lowest noise figure.
btw i'm using BC560c and all metalfilm R's.

Can anyone tell me what the best option is and why? thanks in advance!

Jeroen

Last edited:

JDT

Joined Feb 12, 2009
The 10k resistor is between the emitter and base. Hard to tell (without spending some time analysing the circuit) what the difference will be between the two circuits. I suspect the difference will be the standing operating current.

The transistors are operating as emitter-followers and do not amplify the signal. In fact they have a gain of slightly less than 1. They are impedance changers and give a low output impedance for driving the long microphone cable.

The collector current of both these transistors are added and used to drive the zener. A small part of this current (at a constant 12V) is used to energize the J-fet transistor input stage. This stage has a very high imput impedance to suit the electret microphone. It also has a gain of 1. Anti-phase outputs from this stage are fed to each transistor.

isthatme

Joined Dec 2, 2009
thanks JDT for your insight.
it raises the next question.
i'm using http://jlielectronics.com/transsound/electrets/tsb-120a.htm, which needs nothing more than 2k2 impedance. but thats already been taken care of with the 2k2 resistors right, or is the impedance here higher?

Can i now crank up the amplification in this circuit some way? (i think not). I need to use as less components as possible for balancing and amplification say 20dB or more.

thanks again!
jeroen

JDT

Joined Feb 12, 2009