Disable beep in electric fireplace

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by splinkyhead, Nov 25, 2009.

1. splinkyhead

Thread Starter New Member

Nov 25, 2009
    Hi All

First time poster and total circuit noob here so please be gentle.

I recently bought an electric fireplace for the house and am very happy with it except for one thing - each time a button is pressed to change a setting or turn the device on or off, there is an extremely LOUD beep. This is very annoying when you set it to auto shut-off 1hr after you start it because you plan to drift off to sleep as the flames dance you into drowsiness. Next thing you know BEEEEEEEEEEEP!@#!@$ wakes you from your sleep and now you know the fireplace is off. Obviously not the ideal situation.

At first I thought I might be able to muffle the speaker with some tape but after opening it up I decided I needed some expert help (ie. you guys) because it was pretty much just a circuit board and wires.

So what I am hoping to achieve is to either: completely disable the beep altogether, or tweak the beep to be approx. 20% quieter (seriously it is loud enough to wake the everyone in the house - quiet (pun) ridiculous really).

I have attached three photos - one of the overall fireplace, one of the circuit board, and one of the circuit board map kindly provided on a sticker on the fireplace.

Please let me know how/what I am able to do considering I am a complete and utter noob with very few tools.

Cheers

Paul

2. mik3

Feb 4, 2008
    The buzzer the the black cylinder which has KC-1206 written on its top. If you remove it then the problem is solved. However, be careful not to cause a short on the board and it may get destroyed after power on.

3. beenthere

Retired Moderator

Apr 20, 2004
    If you feel uncomfortable trying to unsolder and remove the piezo speaker, you can drip some super glue into the little sound port and give it time to dry. It will certainly be quieter.

4. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007