Diodes and grounds

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by JoyAm, Sep 5, 2014.

1. JoyAm

Thread Starter Member

Aug 21, 2014
    Hello there, i just started studying microelectronics after getting some basic knowledge of electrical circuits and i find myself terribly confused. In circuits with diodes i see no meshes, instead i see that ground symbol almost everywhere and i get really confused. I know that what i am asking is hard to answer but is there any link you can give me to a tutorial or something so i can understand whats going on ? Thanks in advance :)

2. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010
    Meshes? Why would you expect a mesh? Why would you NOT expect a ground symbol? They commonly denote the low reference voltage in a circuit and not as often true earth ground.

Perhaps if you could post a specific example.

Oh wait, you're not talking about schematics, but circuit drawings in a textbook, right?

3. JoyAm

Thread Starter Member

Aug 21, 2014
    Yes, you are right sir i am talking about drawings in a textbook, but i can not understand how things work in such circuits, let me give you an example as you asked. Lets assume we have this circuit ( i am sorry about the very bad quality ) http://prntscr.com/4k0nwq
    even if the diodes are on there, how can we have a current as there is no closed route ? and that grounded V, what is that ?
    ( i am sorry for my stupid and non-consistent questions but i am in great confusion )

4. kubeek

AAC Fanatic!

Sep 20, 2005
    V denotes where you measure the output voltage. If all the diodes are not connected to anything, then the reistor will provide current to any load connected to the output.
    If any of the diodes is connected to ground, then you will get only 0.7v on the output.

JoyAm likes this.
  5. studiot

AAC Fanatic!

Nov 9, 2007
    Do you mean something like this, which is a diode OR gate?

diodeor.jpg

Gosh you posted the same picture as I did!

6. JoyAm

Thread Starter Member

Aug 21, 2014