Dimmer/Rheostat help...converting negative into positive

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by SilverJester, Sep 24, 2010.

1. SilverJester

Thread Starter New Member

Sep 24, 2010
    I'm hoping someone on this forum can help me out as I'm not very good with wiring or hardware components (more of a software kinda guy).

I'm wiring in some new gauges into my car and need a little help dimming the lights on the gauges. The gauge has 1 wire (which requires a +12v source) to adjust the brightness of the lights. However the car's factory dimmer/rheostat has 3 wires (+12V into the rheostat, ground into the rheostat, and ground out of the rheostat). The rheostat dims the lights by increasing the resistance to current ground coming out of it.

I'd like to be able to dim the new gauges using the factory rheostat (which also dims other lights in the car). But as you read above, the factory rheostat effects only the ground, not a positive wire that the new gauges could use for dimming. So my question is, is there a way with some sort of electrical component, to take the ground that is coming out of the rheostat as an input, an output a + source that is in proportion to the resistance on the ground wire?

2. Kermit2

AAC Fanatic!

Feb 5, 2010
    It should still work whether the resistance is at ground or at the 12 volt. The electrons must go from the negative battery terminal to the positive terminal. It doesn't matter much to them if they have a resistance at one end of the circuit or the other, they must STILL go through that resistance to complete the circuit, no matter where it is placed in the circuit.

whether you lower the 12 volt line relative to ground, or you raise ground potential relative to 12 volts. The difference will be the same. The potential difference between those points will decrease.

3. SilverJester

Sep 24, 2010