Digital Thermometer Circuit with LCD Output

AKspartan

Joined Mar 10, 2010
Hello,

I'm looking to create a digital thermometer using an LM35 and an LCD screen. I'm a sophomore chemical engineering student and this circuit will be used as part of an open-ended project for one of my introductory engineering classes. The project goal is to "create or improve upon an existing technology to improve your daily life." This thermometer will be used to create a coffee cup which can measure and display the temperature of its liquid contents. This will not only allow the user to not only avoid scalding their mouth with piping hot coffee, but also allows them to enjoy their coffee at their most preferred temperature.

My knowledge of circuits is limited - my physics course just finished going through Ohm's Law, Faraday's Law, Lenz' Law, etc. We're currently working on different types of circuits (RC, RL, RCL, etc.) and current sources (DC/AC). Anything beyond this is foreign to me. I come here not asking to have the forum experts simply hand me what I'm looking for, but to use the helpful posters here to guide me in the right direction and to learn how this thing works.

The number one priority on this project is the minimization of cost (the constraint is that the final product must cost no more than $20 in materials). With that in mind, here are few questions to get started:

Is the LM35 appropriate for this sort of application (being frequently exposed to these liquids)?

What sort of analog-to-digital converter will I need?

Can anyone recommend any distributors who sell simple/cheap LCD screens?

How does one translate the analog input into an input the LCD can display as a temperature? I understand that it has to be converted to digital, but beyond that what needs to be done?

I appreciate any and all comments and help.

Thanks,

AK

rjenkins

Joined Nov 6, 2005
Search for 'digital panel meters' - these are complete modules with a DVM chip and LCD or LED display.