Digital Scoreboard Project NEWBIE!!!

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Maxxxin, Apr 23, 2013.

1. Maxxxin

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 23, 2013
    :confused: Hi all, I am a total newbie to electronics and to this forum but have read quite a few posts and people here seem to know what they are talking about so here is my problem. I have acquired the electrical components to make my own remote controlled scoreboard, but the microchip used will only allow the LED displays to count upwards and not down. I spoke to the seller and he informed me that it uses the 4026 chip and that is what it is programmed to do. What I would like to know is if the chip can be reprogrammed and if so how easy is that to do and if it cannot be done, is there an alternative chip I could use. Many thanks in advance.

John

2. joeyd999

AAC Fanatic!

Jun 6, 2011
    The 4026 is not "programmed" to do anything. BUT, it is "hardwired" to count up. The answer is no.

3. Maxxxin

Apr 23, 2013
    I see, so is there an alternative so that when I press down on the remote, it would count down?

4. elec_mech

Nov 12, 2008
    Welcome to AAC.

When you say:
    I assume you mean you bought a kit?

As joeyd999 mentioned, the 4026 is not a microchip but rather a discrete logic chip hardwired to do a specific task. Take a look at the datasheet here.

If you plan to stick with the kit, about the only thing you could do is reset the display to zero then count up everytime. It will not count down.

If want to 'roll your own' circuit, we can certainly help. Take a look at the CD40110. This IC has separate pins for counting up and down.

I've put together a couple of circuits using the 40110 you may be interested in. One is here. It includes remote interface, auto-repeat (hold up or down button for more than a second or two and display will continue to count up or down for as long as button is pressed), and flashing.