Digital Clock Help?

WestwardV

Joined Nov 21, 2013
Hi Forum people!

So I'm fairly new to this so it may be odd.
I'm currently a A level student, and for my project ive decided to work on building my own Digital clock. As im not to good on them ive decided to stay well clear of micro controllers and just stick with old fashioned 4 Bit binary counters and 7 seg displays. My plan was to make it a little less boring and make one that displays, Years, Months, Days, Hours and minutes but im a little stuck and im sure there's ways around it, its just im not very knowledgeable at it and don't know them.
Here are my issues:

Is it actually possible????
Not sure what type of astable to use? If I was just using one astable and just bumping it up over minutes hours days etc, I would have to have a astable that goes high every minute then goes back to low really quickly to make it as accurete to a minute as possible? ( Am I just Overcomplicating things?)
setting it up to realise gap years different amount of days in different months etc?
Is there a easier way to do this that I havent thought of (other than micro controllers)

Most of this is probably me being stupid but some advice from people who know what there properly doing would be really helpful

Thanks

Brent :)

Last edited:

THE_RB

Joined Feb 11, 2008
By refusing to use a microcontroller, you make the project massively complicated (tons of IC's and wiring) and that makes it very hard to construct and debug.

I know that's not what you wanted to hear, but if you want all those features maybe you should re-consider?

If you are set on making a clock without a microcontroller, that's fine, lots of people still like to do that. But anything more than a simple HH:MM:SS clock will get VERY complicated!

Have a google around for "DIY clock using logic chips" etc. You can see how complex they are, especially if you want special features like day, date and month.

Metalmann

Joined Dec 8, 2012