Differential Temperature controller

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by msn56, Jun 2, 2010.

1. msn56

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 9, 2010
    Hello Everyone:

I am a complete newbee never built anything electronic and until 2 mos ago thought a diode was something that happened when you passed away and owed someone money - you "die owed" :).

Ahem well... in any case I want to build a differential temperature controller. Heres what it should do - there are two temperature sensors "A" and "B" and two 24 volt zone valves "X" and "Y". WHen the temperature difference is less than 5 degrees then valve 'X' should open and valve 'Y' close and when the temperature difference is greater than 5 degrees then valve "X" should close and valve "Y" open.

Using a prexisting 24 volt transformer to power the system. I would then go to two thermistors. THese would then go to a voltage comparator. THe voltage comparator would then act on two transistors , one an NPN and the other a PNP to have opposite effects thus allowing one valve to open and one to close . AN LED to show me which circuit is active and a resistor before each LED so it doesnt get fried

PLease see pic.

OK so any suggestions on what type of voltage comparator to use why this wont work, what else I should do etc etc would be most sincerely appreciated. Remember I am a newbee

MIke

Last edited: Jun 3, 2010
  2. msn56

Apr 9, 2010
    Well I just found one problem the thermistors will need resistors too so they dont burn out

mike

3. msn56

Apr 9, 2010
    Is there a way to get the image into the thread?

4. JoeJester

AAC Fanatic!

Apr 26, 2005
    save the .bmp as a .png file. then you can use the larger version in the thread.

5. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    .png images are much preferred. They are very compact compared to .bmp and .gif, and not "lossy" like .jpg.

Once you upload the image to the forum, right-click on the link that will appear, and post that as an image in the thread.