Differential Equatins in engineering Occupations

Kelth

Joined Mar 4, 2008
Hello All About Circuits.com community!
First off I want to say what an amazing site! I am a 2nd year student at the University of Hartford double majoring in Computer Engineering and mathimatics. This site puts the textbooks I purchased to shame!

Anyways I have a quick question, if anyone on this message board is a practicing engineer, do you actually mathematically model circuits you design? I am constally bombarded by my professors telling me how when one gets an engineering job, how vital my knowledge of differential equations will be. And how we will constantly be modeling every circuit that is designed. The way they talk about it seems kind of silly to me soooo, I was just curious. I mean I understand of course that it is important to learn inorder to understand where concepts come from and where they are founded but the extent my professors talk about just seems strange.

nomurphy

Joined Aug 8, 2005
how vital my knowledge of differential equations will be. And how we will constantly be modeling every circuit that is designed.
No, not usually.

The main thing that students (and even some experienced people) need to understand is that a nominal design is not a complete design, that one must look at and consider component tolerances and physical properties (temp, vibration, etc). One should design a circuit, and look at all the corners (do the math) to create a robust design.