difference between timer and counter

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by nickmomo, Sep 20, 2008.

  1. nickmomo

    Thread Starter New Member

    Sep 20, 2008
    2
    0
    hi , anybody can establish the real difference between timer and counter?
     
  2. mik3

    Senior Member

    Feb 4, 2008
    4,846
    63
    Basically, a timer can produce time delays (monostable operation) or continues pulses (astable operation) and a counter can count from zero up to a number or from a number down to zero every time it gets an input signal.
     
  3. hgmjr

    Moderator

    Jan 28, 2005
    9,030
    214
    Often these two functions are consolidated into one device. These devices have the capability to derive their clock from an internal oscillator when used in the timer mode or they can take their clock source from an external signal in which case it behaves as a counter.

    hgmrj
     
  4. Wendy

    Moderator

    Mar 24, 2008
    20,765
    2,536
  5. scubasteve_911

    Senior Member

    Dec 27, 2007
    1,202
    1
    I thought they were the same :(
    A lot of times, timer/counter are interchanged in the industry. Although, that doesn't make it correct, just misleading.
     
  6. Wendy

    Moderator

    Mar 24, 2008
    20,765
    2,536
    It can be confusing. Since the term has been around a very long time, and actually describes several different classes of circuits it is probably a good idea to add a preface word to narrow it down. For example a digital timer uses flip flops, a digital second timer would likely have a numberical display. The oldest definition is something I've been working on for a submission.
     
  7. Papabravo

    Expert

    Feb 24, 2006
    10,138
    1,787
    The hardware for a timer and a counter are the same. The distinction is in the input source. If the input is a signal with a known, constant period, then the hardware is being used as a timer. In other word you can establish a 1-to-1 correspondence between edges and elapsed time.

    If the input signal is aperiodic then you are using the hardware as a counter. In this case you cannot establish a 1-to-1 correspondence between edges and elapsed time.
     
  8. scubasteve_911

    Senior Member

    Dec 27, 2007
    1,202
    1
    Papabravo,

    That makes perfect sense! Thanks for clearing it up

    Steve
     
Loading...