Difference between a Bus and an Interface

Abhinavrajan

Joined Aug 7, 2016
I would like to know the difference between a Bus and an Interface.
An interface is basically a bus, right ?

Consider this example where I have microcontroller connected to a temperature sensor via an I2C bus.
They communicate via the I2C interface.

Inside the microcontroller, what protocol does the Control, Address and Data Bus follow ( Like whether they follow the I2C protocol, SPI protocol ) ?
They data from the microcontroller moves through the data bus to the I2C interface. What protocol does the Data bus follow or what is the difference between the I2C bus and the data bus ( Which is present inside the microcontroller )

I am just a beginner in electronics. So, I don't understand concepts clearly when said for the first time. Simple english with an example would really help me.
Please send me any good links or PDFs on these topics i.e. Buses, Interfaces which can give me some really good clarity for a beginner.

Thank you.

hp1729

Joined Nov 23, 2015
Design 812 bus and interface.PNG
I would like to know the difference between a Bus and an Interface.
An interface is basically a bus, right ?

Consider this example where I have microcontroller connected to a temperature sensor via an I2C bus.
They communicate via the I2C interface.

Inside the microcontroller, what protocol does the Control, Address and Data Bus follow ( Like whether they follow the I2C protocol, SPI protocol ) ?
They data from the microcontroller moves through the data bus to the I2C interface. What protocol does the Data bus follow or what is the difference between the I2C bus and the data bus ( Which is present inside the microcontroller )

I am just a beginner in electronics. So, I don't understand concepts clearly when said for the first time. Simple english with an example would really help me.