Development board/FPGA with lots of ports.

nipunmaster

Joined Sep 25, 2010
I am new to embedded systems, having worked previously with small microprocessors only. We have a project which requires a system with more than 4 USB ports, a VGA input port, and an optional separate VGA output port, RJ45 LAN interfacing for continuous transmission of data through the internet, a Microphone input, and a webcamera input. It should be able to duplicate the VGA and usb inputs to the outputs, and at the same time combine all of them and transmit them over the LAN to the internet. So what type of development board would I need? I am new to this so please tell me what processor I would need to use. And is it possible to program it in such a way that the individual inputs can be copied to another ports as outputs, in real time?

nipunmaster

Joined Sep 25, 2010
By VGA input, I mean it should be able to take the VGA output coming from a normal computer and then send it over via the internet, and also send it back via another VGA port.

You need a combination of different mixed signal interfaces to handle the individual interfaces and signals - all managed by a central FPGA/processor.

kubeek

Joined Sep 20, 2005
By VGA input, I mean it should be able to take the VGA output coming from a normal computer and then send it over via the internet, and also send it back via another VGA port.
I can imagine that with the VGA, but how do you expect it to work with USB? Do you want just to sniff the traffic, or be able to do something from the ethernet side?

nipunmaster

Joined Sep 25, 2010