Detecting an open, and indicating with LED

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by k0z0oo1, Nov 26, 2013.

1. k0z0oo1

Thread Starter New Member

Jul 6, 2013
    First, I want to thank everyone on this forum, as i have used the information here before, for the wealth of knowledge. A little of my background, I am an industrial/commercial construction electrician. I do have a limited background in electronics repair/simple circuit design. I enjoy the hobby of slot car racing and have a custom made track in my basement.

I have LEDs embedded in the surface of the track to indicate the specific lane, 3 lanes total. Currently, they are always on when the track is in use. I would like to only have each lane light up when there is not a car in the slot. The cars use 0-10VDC with a small DC motor, usually no more then 2A draw. The power is supplied to the cars with copper braid, on either side of the slot, and braid on the guide shoe of the car.

Is there a way to design a circuit that can detect when the car is not in the slot, and display it with the LEDs mounted in the track?

I was thinking it may be possible to detect the resistance of the motor, which will vary, to turn the lights off. But i did not know if the 0-10VDC powering the car would interfere with this detection.

Thanks in advance to everyone who reads and/or replies. I will try to answer any questions you may have.

2. contravalent

Nov 26, 2013
    you must detect current in the circuit for each car. If the current is zero, there is no car in the slot.
    The easiest way to detect current is to put a small resistor in series with the circuit and measure the voltage drop across that resistor. For example, a .01 ohm resistor will have 20 millivolts across it when 2A are flowing. You could say the car is not there if less than 1 millivolt is across the resistor. You should amplify the voltage across the resistor with an op amp, and compare the voltage to a reference.

3. wayneh

Expert

Sep 9, 2010