Desperate help needed with circuit diagram

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by Manghameister, Jan 9, 2009.

1. Manghameister

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 9, 2009
    I am a complete electronics amateur, literally, i can barely even rewire a plug, but I desperately need help with this circuit. Its a counter circuit that simply adds one on with every pulse from a clock, however when i added in an SPST switch all of the counters and decoders blew up saying that the voltage had gone 6V over the limit. Any ideas would be very welcome.

2. mik3

Feb 4, 2008
    If I am right 74HCXXX logic family needs 5V for the supply voltage. Thus you can't apply more than 5V at their inputs.

3. Alberto

Nov 7, 2008
    Mik3 is right, you should use 5 volts not 6Volts! Use a 7805 and a 9 volts battery.

Then you must add a 10K resistor and 100 nF capacitor from the common of every switches to ground, to avoid to mess up every thing when you use the switches.

Have you grounded all the unused inputs of 74hc00 ? (From your schematic there must be two unused)

pin 5 of 74hc4511 must be connected to ground

Pin 5 of 74hc190 must be pulled up with a 10k resistor

Never leave TTL inputs floating!

Alberto

Last edited: Jan 9, 2009
  4. mik3

Feb 4, 2008
    Was the circuit working before adding the switch?
    Which switch is it?

5. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    Actually, it's never leave CMOS inputs open.

Tie unused inputs to either +V or GND.

6. bertus

Administrator

Apr 5, 2008
    Hello,

The 74HC family may work from 2 to 6 Volts.

The quote comes from this page :
    http://www.kpsec.freeuk.com/components/74series.htm

Greetings,
    Bertus

7. Manghameister

Thread Starter New Member

Jan 9, 2009
    @mik3