Designing without Firmware, please fact check me

Discussion in 'General Electronics Chat' started by HalfMadDad, Jul 7, 2016.

1. HalfMadDad

Thread Starter New Member

Jun 10, 2016
    Hi Everyone

Could I ask you to check my line of reasoning? I am trying to get a project off the ground.

I have been servicing scientific instruments for about 18 years but I have never designed one. I am tinkering with the idea of doing this.

All instruments I work on are bench top and not particularly cost sensitive. If something costs $300 instead of $100 but it saves a lot of design time, that's fine.

Production runs would be very short, well under a 1000 and probably under 100.

This is such a wonderful time to be involved with electronics. If you want to torture yourself slowly with Assembly language and nand gates you can, you can use a full blown OS like Linux and large integrated circuits/SBCs and there are all sorts of options between these extremes.

Since portability and cost are not the main issues for me, I am thinking about other options beside working with embedded computers.

Does this line of reasoning seem right, could you fact check me? :

1)ISA cards were often passive in the old days, they often had no CPUs of their own

2)When old computers controlled passive boards, they slowed down due to the added overhead.

3)Later model ISA cards and PCI cards often had their own CPUs and could do far more while taxing the main CPU less

4)Multicore CPUs and modern computers have immense computational power and would not necessarily struggle to control a passive board, assuming the passive circuit was not overly complex(highly arbitrary, I will explain more soon)

I have been thinking about creating a PCIe card that would have a PCIe to local bridge chip. I was thinking that it would just have a ribbon socket and that I would then take a ribbon cable to a larger circuit board that would have the circuitry that needs controlling.