Designing multistage signal phasing.

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by E.E., Apr 3, 2008.

1. E.E.

Thread Starter New Member

Apr 2, 2008
    Hey guys! Just a little backround, I am a student of E.E. working on some projects for my own learning experience. So I am building a circuit called a phasor for a guitarist buddy of mine. The idea is I have a buffer OP Amp(OP07 for low noise) that has its neg. feedback loop connected to 4 Dual OP Amps(8 stages in total). So my question is what kind of timing I should use. I need the signal to be 90 degrees out of phase. With the original signal passing through the buffer, would it be better to use a 555 timer to delay the signal or a 12 bit counter with an alternating reset voltage. Or any other ideas?

2. Wendy

Mar 24, 2008
    There is something called a bucket brigade that will delay a signal, but I don't remember much more than that. Both the alternatives you mention are digital, I don't see how they can work. Do you need 90 degrees across the specturm, or just for one frequency?

3. E.E.

Apr 2, 2008
    Crap, thats right it is digital. Yes the full spectrum 90 degree shift. Thanks for your input man!:)

4. Wendy

Mar 24, 2008
    I'm probably inserting foot at this point, but a 90 degree phase shift would be a different delay for each frequency. I'm not sure how you would accomplish that.

An RC circuit would do it, but it is also a filter, which sounds pretty undesirable from here. There might be a way to equalize the signal after the shift though.

The bucket brigade shifts (delays) an audio signal by a fixed number of milliseconds, which isn't quite it either.

There is probably a way to do it, but I'm not the one to know how.

5. SgtWookie

Expert

Jul 17, 2007
    Check out this page:
    http://www.geofex.com/
    There's a phaser schematic, 2nd link down.

(Dang, 2nd time today I've referenced that link) ;)

6. E.E.

Apr 2, 2008