Designing an experiment board using an Atmel SAM3 ARM microcontroller

josef.van.niekerk

Joined Jan 18, 2013
This is my first post here, and I'd just like to introduce myself. I'm not an electronics expert, however, I am a software developer by nature. I've been a PHP web developer for about 7 years, with experience in C++, Java and a lot of other technologies.

I'm currently in the process of designing my own ARM Cortex M3 experiment board. After I brought my own Arduino, I became more curious on how these boards are designed and manufactured.

So I decided, the best way to learn would be to go through this process myself.

I've already designed my board with a buck converter 3.3V power supply, an ESD protection array, and the device is powered from USB 5V. Further I've added my Atmel SAM3S processor, and now in the process of connecting the rest of the pins.

I'm using Eagle CAD to draw my design.

Would it be acceptable for me to post my CAD design here for constructive critique? I'm very eager to learn, and very excited about having other folks with more experience than me, point out my mistakes, so I can learn from them and rectify.

The idea is also, to ensure that, when the design is finalised, I have a greater likelihood, that the whole thing is going to work, after I've build the board, and connect it to the USB supply for its maiden power up.

thatoneguy

Joined Feb 19, 2009
As a starting point, look at the schematic and board files for the Pinguino it is PIC32/MIPS based board, but processor and I/O pin changes can be done relatively easily. It has a ton of "extras" on board that I wish more boards used (SMPS vs. linear supplies is my biggest wish)