Designing a photo detector circuit

shriks

Joined Apr 14, 2008
Hi,

I am currently designing a photo detector circuit which would give out a TTL pulse in response to a black or white image on a screen changing at 30Hz. Since I am an amateur at electronics I have been looking on the internet for ideas, and came across this particular circuit

http://www.emant.com/324003.page

But I am not able to decide if this could be of use to me. And also if the circuit is this simple.

Could anyone advice me on this ? Any suggestions on other possible circuits/ideas is also appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Shriks

thingmaker3

Joined May 16, 2005
The divider circuit at the top of the page will work. You can send the output to a single source comparator (maybe an LM393) to generate a TTL compatible signal. Using a potentiometer for second comparator input will allow adjustment.

shriks

Joined Apr 14, 2008
Hi,

I finally managed to get the photo detector working. I now need to transform the output in terms of a TTL signal. My input is either black or white color. For which the photo dector has an ouput of ~2mV(for black) and ~22mV(for white).
Can anyone suggest a suitable TTL ciruit that I can combine with my photodetector circuit ? Or can I modify the existing circuit to get a TTL ouptut ?

Thanks in advance
shriks

SgtWookie

Joined Jul 17, 2007
Thingmaker3's suggestion of using a single comparator will do that for you.

Have one input of the comparator set to 12mV using a resistive divider network.
place your photo detector output on the other comparator input.

The output of the comparator may be open-collector. In that case, you will need to use a 1k Ohm resistor between it and 5v to get a TTL-level signal output.

shriks

Joined Apr 14, 2008
Hi SgtWooki,

I finally tried the circuit for a TTL output as suggested. But I only getting a constant voltage of 2.35V for both white and black conditions from the photo detector.