Design problem

Bazzer Englander

Joined Apr 18, 2011
People, I need help with a circuit board, I have this device which has been designed by an electronics engineer to an idea of mine, I have had twenty-thirty of these built and sent out, I've had 15% returned mainly through component failure ie, relay or transformer faults, and now when I,m on the point of getting publicity to start things moving I have an earth fault indicating although there isn't a fault, and the chap who did the design has gone on a bender & I can't get hold of him. I've tried to find the fault to no avail,(I should point out that I'm not an electronics engineer) I've cross checked the circuit against the diagram but I think the diagram is not the right one, I have a parts list which again is not 100% correct, the one I've put together shows the same fault. Before I go too far,ie pictures ect,is anyone able to help.

Many thanks,
Barry BazzerEnglander.

wayneh

Joined Sep 9, 2010
... the chap who did the design has gone on a bender & I can't get hold of him. ...
Classic. One of those "contingencies" they don't teach you about in school.

Anyway, as noted, no one can say much without seeing things. The more detail you can offer, the more you'll get back.

ErnieM

Joined Apr 24, 2011
first off it seems you have a major configuration control problem. You don't have a good idea of what you are building. This is a common failing of drunkards and fools. I also struggle at it and make commonly make mistakes even though I try not to do this.

Do you have a unit that works? Start there, compare every part on it with a kit of unbuilt parts and the bill of materials you have. Job one is to re-create (or simply create) what parts are used in this.

You may have the same problem with the schematic and the assembly drawings. They may be incorrect or incomplete. You need to be able to depend on these 100%

It is not the worst idea to bring "fresh eyes" into this job.

absf

Joined Dec 29, 2010