Design assistance with mobile continuous power source

Discussion in 'The Projects Forum' started by tsg, Dec 11, 2010.

1. tsg

Thread Starter New Member

Dec 10, 2010
    I am trying to build a mobile battery setup that can provide continuous uninterrupted power by connecting multiple battery packs in parallel and hot swapping depleted packs with freshly charged ones as needed.

The project goals are as follows:

• Continuous uninterrupted power to the load
    • Quick connect and disconnect of individual power packs
    • 3 or more power sources connected in parallel
    • Some type of indicator (LED or LCD display) to show when a power source is low
    • 5V output (also 12V from same sources, if possible)

I have a basic knowledge of electricity and electronics but I have never built anything like this before. I would like to do this with only NiMh AA rechargeable batteries because I already have a large investment in batteries and chargers of this type.

The batteries are 2900mAh AA NiMh. They will all be charged up using standard smart chargers. My questions are all about powering the load (discharging) in parallel, not charging.

From what I have gathered, I will need a fuse at the output of each source for safety. I will also need a diode at each source to isolate it from the others.

I planned to use 3 or more NiMH AAx4 USB packs connected in parallel. At this point, I am unclear about whether I can use a USB splitter cable to make the parallel connections. Would the USB hub function interfere with the circuit?

Alternately, I considered using a USB to Universal adapter at each power source and connecting these together using a 3 to 1 parallel adapter. Is that configuration valid?